Monday, May 13, 2013

The Treaty of Saint-Germain

The Treaty of Saint-Germain, was signed on 10 September 1919 by the victorious Allies of World War I on the one hand and by the Republic of German-Austria on the other. The treaty signing ceremony took place at the Château de Saint-Germain-en-Laye.

In this treaty settled the dismemberment of the antique Habsburg monarchy, Austria-Hungarian Empire, and Austria was limited to some areas in which they spoke only German. 

By this treaty the independence of Hungary and the creation of new states of Czechoslovakia (in Bohemia, Moravia and Silesia) and Yugoslavia (Slovenia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, Vojvodina and parts of Dalmatia.) were recognized. It also established the assignment of the Trentino, South Tyrol, Trieste, Istria, some Dalmatian islands and Friuli to Italy, Galicia to Poland. Hungary would giveTransylvania, part of Banat and part of Bukovina to Romania, which settled in the Treaty of Trianon, and the Burgenland to Austria. 

The treaty included 'war reparations' of large sums of money, directed towards the Allies, to pay for the costs of the war over a period of 30 years.


Fernando Marcos-Alberca said...

Hello Cristina! I like your journal, it´s complet, I don´t found any incorrection. Today Paqui give the exam and i have a 8,1 on the exam, and i´m very happy. BYE!

Paqui Pérez Fons said...

Hello Cristina,

I think you could have written a longer post about the treaty, including more information. Here you have a link to enlarge it:

These are my corrections to what you wrote:

-...The treaty’s signing ceremony

- This treaty meant the dismantling of the old Habsburg monarchy, the Austro-Hungarian Empire, and Austria was limited to someGerman- speaking areas.

-...the creation ofthe new States of Czechoslovakia (unification of Bohemia, Moravia and Silesia) and Yugoslavia (unification of Slovenia


- Erase this part: which settled in the Treaty of Trianon

See you!