Wednesday, March 13, 2013

The four Napoleons


In the background, Napoleon I and his son Napoleon II
In the foreground,  Napoleon III and his son Napoleon IV

At Enrique Pérez´s request, here you have a post about the four Napoleons:

- As you know, Napoleon I was the Emperor of France  from 1804 to 1814 and he died in Saint Helena, after being definitiveley defeated at the Battle of Waterloo. 

- Napoleon II was the son  of  Napoleon I and his second wife, Marie Louise of Austria's. He was born in 1811 and appointed Prince Imperial and King of Rome. After Napoleon I´s defeat at the Battle of the Nations in Leipzig, he named his son Emperor, but the coalition that had defeated Napoleon didn't accept this fact and he was obliged to withdraw. After Waterloo Napoleon II went to live in Austria, with his mother. He was called "Franz" and received the title of Duke of Reichstadt. He died in  1832 in Vienna. 

- Napoleon III was Louis Napoleon Bonaparte. Napoleon I´s grandnephew. Louis Napoleon was Luois Bonaparte´s son. Louis Bonaparte was one of Napoleon I´s brothers and was appointed King of Holland by him. He reigned in Holland from 1806 to 1810. After Joseph Bonaparte´s death without any successors, Louis Napoleon Bonaparte became Napoleon I´s heir. 

- Napoleon IV was Napoleon III´s son. He was born in 1856 and was the only child of Napoleon III and Empress Eugenia de Montijo. He was appointed Prince Imperial, but after Napoleon III´s abdication, his early death in 1879 broke up the hopes of a further Napoleonic restoration in France. 

No comments: